How to Properly Delete a Page from Your Site

Hi friends, today we are going to talk about Properly Delete a Page from Your Site. I will tell you about How to Properly Delete a Page from Your Site. All these things you can get in this article. So keep tuned with us and know more details about it.


Whenever you delete any page from your site, you also delete one or more URLs at the same time. And when people visit these old URLs, it shows a 404 not found error, which is not good for both your user and Google. This is something that none of us would want. So you can redirect your delete page to another page. In this post, we will show you how to delete your old post correctly.

$ads={2}

How to completely redirect or delete any page

The first thing you should do after deleting your content is to think about whether the content you have deleted is equivalent to any other content on your site. Think about whether there is a page on your site like the one you have deleted that can give its answer to the user. If so, you must redirect the URL of the deleted page to the alternative page.


Our general advice is to redirect your page even when some of your users can take advantage of it. The reason behind this is very simple because if your user gets to see the contact not found page then it will not be a good alternative.


Create redirect

There are different types of redirects but 301 redirects are permanent and you should use the same redirects when redirecting your delete page. Using 301 redirect means that Google and other search engines assign the link value of your old page URL to the redirect page.


When to delete a page completely

If your site has no other alternative page with this information then you need to think for yourself whether you really want to delete this page or improve it.

$ads={2}

404 and 410 HTTP headers

The difference between 404 and 410 header badge is very simple. 404 means content not found. 410 means contact has been deleted and therefore it is very specific.


If someone returns the URL 410, Google will know that you have removed the URL for some reason and therefore it will remove the URL from its index very quickly.


If you use the Yoast SEO Premium plugin for WordPress, you will find a redirects module that lets you set a 401 header. Redirect Manager is a great tool for working with a redirect that asks you what to do with this URL when you delete or change a permalink. You can set any kind of redirect here.


410 One problem with content deleted headers is that Google provides incomplete support for it. Google quickly deletes 410 serving pages from its index, but Google Search Console 410 remains within the "Not found" crawl error, similar to the 404 error.


Collateral Damage when deleting a page

When you delete one or more pages from your side, you often face collateral damage. For example, if you delete all posts from a specific tag on your site, that tag will be emptied and its archive will return URL 404. Even though you have handled your Sibi URL properly, the tag archive will still return 404 so you have to deal with those URLs as well.

$ads={2}

If you delete your entire content, it will create a lot of 404s and your site will be down, so you should proceed with care.


Conclusion

In this article, I told you How to Properly Delete a Page from Your Site. If you like this article, then definitely share it with your friends. If you still have confusion. Any topic, anything, if you have not understood in the article. So you can tell us this through comments. 

Thank you!


Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box.

Previous Post Next Post
close