Loading..
How to Disable Auto Media Downloads on Telegram Desktop

By default, Telegram downloads files, documents, images, and videos on the desktop automatically once the chat screen is opened. However, not everyone wants to download these files unless necessary. Here is a quick guide to disabled auto media downloads on the desktop.

How to Disable Auto Media Downloads on Telegram Desktop

If you are a user of Telegram, you may use it on your phone and laptop. You might get irritated by the way that the desktop application automatically downloads these files, whether you're someone like myself who receives lots of files in Telegram or uses "Save Messages" to save files.

This not only takes unnecessary bandwidth, but it also takes up the disc as files are stored over time. As a result, you may want to turn off or at least to some extent limiting the automatic media download on Telegram's desktop app.

Below are step-by-step instructions for stopping telegram files from being downloaded on your device automatically. But make sure you have the latest version on your PC before we start.

Steps to Turn Off Automatic File Downloads in Telegram PC

  • Open your computer's Telegram desktop app.
  • In the top left corner, click on the hamburgers menu.
  • In the sidebar, click Settings.
  • Select Advanced on the next screen.
  • You will see Automatic Media Downloads here.
  • Simply select these "Private chats," "Groups" and “In channels” options, and automatically disable photos and file downloads.

That's it. You can not automatically download documents, images, videos, or any file on your Telegram even if you do this manually.

If you just want to reduce data consumption, instead of completely disabling the feature, you can still limit the default download-file size. You can also disable auto replay in the same setting for images, videos, and GIFs.

Wrapping Up

This has been a quick guide to how auto media downloads on Telegram desktop can be disabled. I hope it allows you to reduce unwanted internet access and later remove files.
close