WhatsApp claims to be adding a disappearing mode to iOS devices, changes to its terms & conditions

WABetaInfo recently leaked the upcoming ‘disappearing mode' feature for iOS. This feature is said to improve user safety by deleting messages after a set amount of time. According to the website, "Today we're announcing the Disappearing Mode feature!"

If you value your privacy, the disappearing messages option is for you. You can allow it in Contact Info and Group Info, but you will need to manually enable it anytime a contact initiates a new conversation with you.”

If the user activates this mode all new chats start with messages that disappear and slowly the messages disappear, as if you had deleted them. Once this option is available, iPhones and iPads can go to the WhatsApp application, tap settings, and privacy and then switch to the function that disappears. As shown below:

WhatsApp claims to be adding a disappearing mode to iOS devices, changes to its terms & conditions
Image source: 9to5Mac


In addition, WhatsApp would not disable accounts as stated in a statement of WhatsApp as far as the controversial privacy policy is concerned.
"We appreciate some people have not been given the chance to do this yet, although most users who have received the new service terms have approved the new service terms. On May 15, no accounts will be disabled, and no one will lose the WhatsApp feature. In the next few weeks, we will follow up with reminders."

However, if you do not accept the terms, users will eventually lose certain platform features. This means the chat list, audio, and video calls and no new notifications are available.
×